2013

VMZ's business units Planning and Consulting, Mobility Services and general administration move into the new premises at Ullsteinstra├če 114 in 12109 Berlin.

 

2012

In cooperation with TomTom traffic information services, VMZ develops a new method for real-time detection of road traffic. The new traffic map of VIZ is based on VIZ's traffic data delivered by permanent detectors and travel time data provided by TomTom.

 

2011

VIZ, the new Berlin traffic information center goes into service. Senator for Urban Development Ingeborg Junge-Reyer and Dr. Volkmar Klasen of SIEMENS AG present the new traffic information center. For more information: Press release of the Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment

 

2010

The Senate Department for Urban Development and the Environment and VMZ sign a contract for the operation of Berlin's traffic information center VIZ from 2011 until 2020 after VMZ had won the European-wide call for tender.

 

2009

VMZ designs and implements a parking guidance and information system as well as a CCTV traffic control system for the area surrounding Berlin exhibition grounds and the Olympic stadium. VMZ operates the traffic news service for the media during the World Championships in Athletics.

 

2008

BIBER, the roadwork information system for the Berlin-Brandenburg metropolitan area developed by VMZ, goes online. It consolidates every available piece of information on roadworks in Berlin and Brandenburg and enables the coordination of roadworks across the two federal states.

 

2006

Siemens AG takes over 100% of VMZ. The 2006 FIFA World Cup becomes the baptism of fire for traffic management in Berlin. VMZ operates the traffic news media service during the event.

 

2005

VMZ moves from Potsdamer Platz to Tempelhof Airport and is in charge of traffic planning for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Berlin. Its work includes concept design, the implementation of the technical infrastructure as well as the provision of information services.

 

2004

Start of the iQ mobility research project: Quality management for road traffic. Main task of VMZ is the development of the quality module, which we later developed into our iQ traffic module.  Download broschure

 

2002

The set-up of the traffic management center being completed (street and center infrastructure), VMZ commences operation in its premises at Potsdamer Platz. Starting shot for the set-up of the planning and consulting business unit. (C) Foto: Fotolia

 

1999

The consortium consisting of Siemens AG and DaimlerChrysler AG wins the tender for the set-up and the operation of VMZ, the traffic management center for Berlin. VMZ Berlin Betreibergesellschaft mbH is founded.

2013

Die VMZ bezieht mit den Geschäftsbereichen Planung und Consulting, Mobilitätsdienste und der allgemeinen Verwaltung neue Räume in der Ullsteinstraße 114 in 12109 Berlin.

 

2012

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verkehrsdatenanbieter TomTom entwickelt die VMZ ein neues Verfahren zur Ermittlung der aktuellen Verkehrslage. Die neue Verkehrslagekarte der VIZ basiert auf den Daten der stationären Detektion der VIZ und Reisezeitdaten von TomTom.

 

2011

Die neue Verkehrsinformationszentrale (VIZ) nimmt ihren Betrieb auf. Senatorin Ingeborg Junge-Reyer und Dr. Volkmar Klasen von der SIEMENS AG stellen die neue VIZ vor. Mehr dazu hier: Pressemitteilung der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt

 

2010

Der Vertrag zwischen der SenStadtUm und der VMZ über den Betrieb der Verkehrsinformationszentrale 2011 - 2020 wird unterzeichnet. Vorausgegangen war eine europaweite Ausschreibung, bei der sich die VMZ durchsetzen konnte.

 

2009

Das Informations- und Parkleitsystem und das videogestützte Verkehrsüberwachungssystem im Bereich Messe und Olympiastadion werden von der VMZ konzipiert und errichtet. Die VMZ betreibt den Mediendienst Verkehrsnachrichtenagentur zur Leichtathletikweltmeisterschaft.

 

2008

Das von der VMZ entwickelte Baustelleninformationssystem für den engeren Verflechtungsraum (BIBER) geht in Betrieb. Es führt die Baumaßnahmen in Berlin und Brandenburg zu­sammen und ermöglicht die länderübergreifende Baustellenkoordinierung.

 

2006

Die Siemens AG übernimmt die VMZ zu 100%. Die Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 wird zur Feuertaufe des verkehrsträgerübergreifenden Verkehrsmanagements in Berlin, die VMZ betreibt den Mediendienst Verkehrsnachrichtenagentur zur Fußballweltmeisterschaft.

 

2005

Die VMZ zieht vom Potsdamer Platz in das Gebäude des Flughafens Tempelhof und plant den Verkehr zur Fußballweltmeisterschaft 2006 in Berlin. Das Konzept umfasst die Planung, die Errichtung der technischen Infrastruktur sowie die Informationsbereitstellung.

 

2004

Start des Forschungsprojektes iQ mobility: Verkehrsmittelübergreifendes Qualitätsmanagement im straßengebundenen Verkehr. Schwerpunktaufgabe der VMZ ist die Entwicklung des Qualitätsmoduls, aus dem wir später iQ traffic entwickeln. Download Broschüre

 

2002

Die Errichtung der VMZ (Straßenseitig und Zentralenseitig) ist abgeschlossen und der Betrieb der VMZ wird im vollen Funktionsumfang in den Räumen am Potsdamer Platz aufgenommen. Startschuss für den Aufbau des Geschäftsbereichs Planung und Consulting. (C) Foto: Fotolia

 

1999

Das Konsortium bestehend aus der Siemens AG und der DaimlerChrysler AG bekommt den Zuschlag für die Errichtung und den Betrieb der Verkehrsmanagementzentrale Berlin (VMZ), die VMZ Berlin Betreibergesellschaft mbH wird gegründet.